Poster Illustration: “This Is England ’90”.

I recently entered a Channel 4 competition to design a Rave poster for Shane Meadows’ upcoming miniseries, “This Is England ’90“. This is what I ended up turning in…

Al Cook This Is England '90 Poster.

Now the reason why it’s so plain is because I couldn’t decide on an idea that covered everything in the brief and I spent so much time fucking around with ideas that when it came down to it, the deadline was in three days and I hadn’t even started it yet!

I really like “This Is England”. The film and the two TV series. I’d heard about there being a third series set in the 90’s around Acid House and the FIFA World Cup and all that so I was interested when a guy down the pub told me about this poster competition.

But see, I tried to be sneaky. The brief didn’t mention the FIFA World Cup but I knew the series was gonna revolve around a lot of that. So I tried to stick football into my Rave poster ideas wherever I could.

But what does fitba have to do with designing a Rave poster?
Fuck all. That’s what.

The short story is that I spent far too much time on bullshit waste of time sketches instead of paying attention to what they were asking for the poster.

Here’s everything in order…

1027

Let’s make it so that the ball is a disco ball and the street is a dance floor and…” NAW!
Back to the wall idea I went…

1025

What if it was a ripped up fitba poster and underneath was a RAVE poster?!”…

1026

…”Or what if it was HALF Rave poster, HALF FIFA poster!?”

Ball

It was beginning to get out of hand altogether. All of those scribbles ended up in the bin. And then for some reason after all of that, I decided it should look like a postage stamp. So it became a stamp…

Card022

1028

Al Cook. This Is England.

Al Cook. This Is England Notes.

Al Cook This Is England 90. Version 3.

Al Cook This Is England. Postage Stamp Version.

The brief didn’t allow for any text with ’90 in it so it had to go in the end.

Al Cook This Is England '90 Poster.

Is that wee smiley face guy copyrighted? Probably is.

You May Also Be Interested In…
* From Pencil To Paper To Pen To Pencil To Photoshop To Poster
* Behind Al Cook’s “Necropolis”: Nailing Him Up
* Album Cover Artwork: “Love Lust Tales”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2015/06/07/poster-illustration-this-is-england-90/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You remind me on my sister who gives her best under preasure. Five minutes before deadline miracle happens!


Leave a Reply

