GLASGOW. A Sketch Book By John Nisbet.

“I remembered how you love Glasgow and I always see you doing your drawings, Al…” she’d said as she handed me the small brown A5 book. She’d found it whilst cleaning out her loft.

Anne had given me a book called “Glasgow. A Sketch Book By John Nisbet”.

I gave it a quick glance and thanked her very much. After all, It’s not every day that someone gives you a book of sketches from the 1970’s is it? Except this book wasn’t from the 1970’s at all! I’d just assumed it was! It just looked like a book from the 70’s. Very good condition but…old and…beige, y’know? Anyway, when I got home I properly looked at the book and discovered that it was from 1913! A sketch book of Glasgow from 100 years ago!

A few days later, I did the right thing and sold it on Ebay for a FORTUNE!
The End.

Just kidding. I actually tried to persuade Anne to take the book back. “It might be worth something! It’s a hundred years old!” I told her. But nope, the book was mine so thanks and thanks again Anne!

I remember once hearing that copyright expires after a period of 90 years or so. I do hope that’s true because I have decided to scan and upload each and every page of this wonderful book so that you can all enjoy it!

A lot has changed in Glasgow over the past 100 years and yet, looking at these drawings, Glasgow is still very recognisable…

1

2

3

3.5

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

You May Also Be Interested In…
* The Trongate, Glasgow
* The Tolbooth Steeple, Glasgow
* Glasgow: The Matthew Clydesdale Story

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/glasgow-a-sketch-book-by-john-nisbet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. a real pleasure looking at those drawings,a very talented artist…

  2. What beautiful drawings – lots of change in Glasgow, lots still the same. Have you researched the artist at all?

  3. I just bought a copy of this book today. You’ve saved me the time of scanning it! 😀 Thanks.

  4. John Nisbet was the architect of the four blocks bounded by Gt George St. Cranworth St. Kersland St. & Vinicombe St. He was also the Consulting Architect for the layout of the Queensborough Gardens area in Hyndland, Glasgow.


Leave a Reply

