I’ve Decided To Learn The Banjo…

…and even although I’ve been playing the guitar for 20 years now, I have absolutely NO IDEA what I’m doing with the banjo.

My Sister bought me a 5 Stringed Banjo for my Birthday last month and it’s downright gorgeous – which is a good thing because all I can really do with it just now is stare at it.
I play all kinds of guitar styles and right now I’m really into bottleneck slide but I’ve never been much of a ‘picker’ and that’s why I’m having trouble with the banjo. I’ve always wanted a banjo and basically, all I want to do is learn how toΒ play this.
Easier said than done though eh?

I can’t seem to get my head around the top 5th string being lighter than the other four and honestly, I don’t even know how to sit down and hold the damn thing properly.

Ach, but I’m sure I’ll get there in the end.
I ‘ve spent 20 years learning and playing the guitar and I’m sure I can spare another 20 to the banjo.
My pal Mick is a great banjo player and he tells me that the main drawback is that banjo players get a ton of naked, slippery, female groupie attention!
Mick seems to forget that I’ve known him since I was 16 and therefore I’m well used to his bullshit banjo yarns πŸ™‚
Anyways, I’d better get back to my chord chart.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/ive-decided-to-learn-the-banjo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

