Baa, Baa, Woolly Sheep – By Alan Cook.

The other day, I was shocked to learn from Anna that some nursery schools have re-written the old rhyme “Baa, Baa, Black Sheep” because the original was deemed to be racist. I don’t know how somebody came to that conclusion. Can things get any worse?

Anna works with kids in a nursery and whilst I was picking myself up off the floor she also told me that words like ‘idiot’ and ‘stupid’ are edited out of children’s books by the staff so the kids don’t pick up on them and use them towards other kids.
Depressing isn’t it.

If I ever have kids, I’ll take great pride in telling them exactly how things are!
Exactly…



The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/baa-baa-woolly-sheep-by-alan-cook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes I suspect that you and I were separated at birth. Or (more likely, since you’re my senior) I was grown in a lab from some anomalous growth that fell off of you, and then I was shipped overseas by evil scientist types to a stupid American couple who were none the wiser about their petri-dish offspring.

    It’s the only explanation I have for how you manage to have my initials, hair, AND sense of humor, all with what I’ll assume is a much cooler accent.

    Or it was aliens. Or I’m exceptionally drunk on leftover party wine. yes. Probably that.

    • Thanks, I get most of my ideas and general outlook on life by drinking leftover party wine! 🙂

  2. Baa baa, African-American sheep, have you any wool?

  3. You will make a bad parent. Karma bites, and your children will be repeating the same mistakes to you and society. Thank for ruining society


Leave a Reply

