Space Oddity By David Bowie By Andrew Kolb.

I don’t know why someone didn’t come up with this sooner and by that I mean “Now why didn’t I think of that?”
The lyrics to David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” have been illustrated and transformed into a wee book for children!
Click on the pictures to enlarge…
…Actually, don’t click on the pictures to enlarge because it doesn’t work and I don’t know why…

Although not usually the style of illustration I go crazy for, I reckon this is a brilliant idea!
From The Independent

David Bowie’s 1969 song “Space Oddity”, which sees fictional astronaut Major Tom drifting into outer space, has been turned into an unlikely children’s book by a Canadian illustrator.

Andrew Kolb, from southern Ontario, has created an illustrated version of Bowie’s classic track. “It was an entirely personal project,” he said. “The song always played out like a picture book in my head anyway, so I wanted to see if I could make it work. It was for entirely selfish reasons.”

Mr Kolb said the book had a purposefully ambiguous ending, not revealing whether Major Tom chose to leave Earth behind or was cut loose by an asteroid storm. As Tom drifts into space, the song ends with the lyrics: “Planet Earth is blue… and there’s nothing I can do.”

The book is available for download via Mr Kolb’s website, with the illustrator in discussions with HarperCollins for a print run.

View and download the full book on and from Mr. Kolb’s website HERE and let’s keep our fingers crossed that he doesn’t get sued to high Heaven and back again by Ziggy Stardust because I think this is great for kids and an excellent idea in general that will probably catch on right away!
Matter of fact, I’m off to put some illustrations together for Rob Zombie’s “Jesus Frankenstein” right now!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/space-oddity-by-david-bowie-by-andrew-kolb/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The link’s not working due to copyright :{
    If you have the PDF, could you email it to me?

    • ‘Ello, I don’t have the PDF but it can be easily found on good ol’ Google.


Leave a Reply

