Nights In White Satin.

I’ve always had crazy, surreal & disturbing dreams.
My dreams are big glossy cinematic prints and images.

The latest dream I had began…

…with a big blue sky.

I was lying in the middle of the road on Riverbank Drive which is a small road just around the corner from the house I grew up in on Forest Drive, Mossend.

I’m lying in the road in my dressing gown waiting for a car to come.
I don’t know what to think of that but suddenly it stops mattering because music,
LOUD music started to boom from the sky.

The Moody Blues.
Nights In White Satin“.

It was as if God had turned on his stereo.

Listening to “Nights In White Satin” I got up off the road and slowly wandered around onto Forest Drive.
There was a big fire.
The house next to mine was up in flames.
Slow motion flames.

The fire brigade were tackling it and a crowd had gathered.
All in slow motion and still in my dressing gown, I pushed my way to the front of the crowd.

A wave of shock hit me when I saw my Mum holding a wee boy’s hand.
– Me.

The dressing gowned version of me then fell backwards and suddenly,
Everything rewound itself and there I was back lying in the middle of the road.

A blue car came around the corner and “Nights In White Satin” suddenly stopped playing and I woke up.

Has the term “Donniedarkoesque” been coined yet?
If not, I’m calling it.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/nights-in-white-satin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

