The Albums Of John Lennon.

I’m a big fan of John Lennon.
You’d be hard pushed to find a bigger Lennon maniac than me.
When I was 14 I heard his 1970 “Plastic Ono Band” album and I’ve been completely hooked ever since on everything he ever did.

On the 4th of October Yoko Ono is releasing a John Lennon ‘Signature’ Box Set.
It looks like this:

It’s available for Pre-Order now and already has bad reviews because it’s a rip off.
A £127.99 rip off.

The box includes 7 remastered official John Lennon albums, some singles and assorted filler.
As much as I love Yoko Ono (And I do), this is a lazy effort.
From what I can see, it’s light by around 7 albums.
It’s also cheaper to buy the albums individually. 

So, in order,
Here they all are:

Unfinished Music No.1: Two Virgins” (1968):

Unfinished Music No.2: Life With The Lions” (1968):

Wedding Album” (1969):

Live Peace In Toronto 1969” (1969):

John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band” (1970):

Imagine” (1971):

Some Time In New York City” (1972):

Mind Games” (1973):

Walls And Bridges” (1974):

Rock ‘N’ Roll” (1975):

Double Fantasy” (1980):

Milk And Honey” (1984):

Live In New York City” (1986):

Menlove Avenue” (1986):

Acoustic” (2004):

Lennon’s music changed a lot from album to album.
For a good balance I recommend:
“John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band”,
“Walls And Bridges” & “Double Fantasy”.

P.S.
I was gonna title this post “All We Are Saying Is Gies Peace Yoko”.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2010/10/02/the-albums-of-john-lennon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Lennon favourites are:

    John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (love every song);
    Imagine (love the guitar work in How Do You Sleep?);
    Sometime in New York City (love how political it is).

    I do love Double Fantasy, and whilst I do not have anything against Yoko (don’t love her, but John did and that’s good enough for me!), but her stuff on DF is mostly poor (IMHO).

    • Cheers for chipping in Peter.

      I thought Yoko’s Double Fantasy tracks were miles ahead!
      It’s only now that people are starting to really appreciate her stuff.
      Have you heard her album “Yes, i’m A Witch”?
      It’s very good.

      I like how the Double Fantasy album is a dialogue between Man and Wife and how it’s all about going forward. I also love The Plastic Ono Band album because it’s so stark and honest and raw.

      Walls & Bridges is in between those two for me.

  2. PS: What does “(IMHO)” mean?

  3. Fair enough on the Yoko DF comments, must give that album a listen with them in mind.

    I’ve got all of John’s studio albums but I must say that Walls and Bridges is an album I haven’t listened to an awful lot. I do remember John’s song about Allen Klein is on that album though, Steel and Glass IIRC.

    When you going to do a blog on Ringo’s post Beatles albums?

    • There won’t be any Ringo related blog posts any time soon I’m afriad because I don’t think his post Beatles music is any good 🙂
      Maybe I’ll do something on the late great Harry Nilsson though!

      Have you ever heard Sufjan Stevens covering Ringo’s song ‘What Goes On’?
      It’s a knockout masterpiece!
      You’ll maybe find it on youtube somewhere.

      Cheers Peter.


Leave a Reply

