OZ Book Covers (PART I): Baum.

I’m at a stage in the OZ project I’m working on that I haven’t been looking forward to.
Although I’m still preparing inside page illustrations,
I need to start thinking about a front cover.

L. Frank Baums’ series of books had the best covers!
You just can’t wack ’em.

The first book in the series was illustrated by W.W. Denslow and a first edition looked like this:

s184

The great Books Of Wonder do justice to Baum’s OZ books these days.
I love these covers and I’d like to create a cover in the vain of John R. Neills’ originals.
I’m going to put all of Neill’s covers in order up here over a couple of posts so you can see why I admire this guy so much and also so that I can turn to this when I need inspiration.

Like I say,
The first one was illustrated by Denslow but everything from “The Marvelous Land Of Oz” is Neill’s work.
Obviously.

Here are Baums’ titles:

The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz

Ozma Of Oz

Dorothy And The Wizard Of Oz

The Road To Oz

The Emerald City Of Oz

The Patchwork Girl Of Oz

Tik-Tok Of Oz

The Scarecrow Of Oz

Rinkitink In Oz

The Lost Princess Of Oz

The Tin Woodman Of Oz

The Magic Of Oz

Glinda Of Oz

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/oz-book-covers-part-i-baum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] The book covers were hard to find so that’s what took me so long. This post leads on from THIS ONE. […]


Leave a Reply

