2 Guys & 2 Ladies & 5 Ukulele’s.

I’ve wanted to learn a new instrument for a while now.
I’m interested in Saxaphones and Mandolins but last night I discovered that I could bang out a tune (This Tune) on the Ukulele.

bobby_henshaw_ukulele

It’s a lovely wee instrument and it never crossed my mind before to try it out.

The Islay Bar on Argyle Street has a sort of folky musical night on Mondays.
It’s a good one too!

Basically,
People wander in with their instruments and sit down and play together.

Last night there were Banjos, Guitars, Something that looked like a Lute to me, Mandolins, Fiddles and Uke’s.
(Owner of the bar told me that even Bagpipers show up from time to time too).

Aye so anyways.

I met a group of folks who were in their 60’s who were all singing and playing Ukulele’s.
2 guys and 2 ladies.
Nice people.
The two ladies kept their Ukulele’s in their handbags which I thought was amazing.
Just goes t’show that old ladies,
The ones you see everyday in the street may just might be carrying a Ukulele.
🙂

One of the ladies happened to have a spare Uke on them and gave me a go.
Really enjoyed it!
I’ll probably buy one and play it in the bath.

We must have made a strange sight last night.
I got the feeling that together,
We could have quite possibly resembled obscure folk album covers that nobody knows about.

covers_37

mckeithers11

Heh heh.
They were lovely people and I’ll definately go back for some more Ukuleleing.
Is “Ukuleling” the correct term?

Thought not.

Oh aye,
I can also tick another box on THIS.

Published in: on September 29, 2009 at 17:13  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/2-guys-2-ladies-5-ukuleles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you discovered the portable fun of the Ukulele! My mother-in-law gave me one a few years ago and it was the beginning of an obsession! Check out http://www.ukuleleguy.com/ if you want to see how far that obsession has taken me.


Leave a Reply

