L. Frank Baum & “The Ozmatron”.

L. Frank Baum.
My favourite writer.

He wasn’t always but that’s only because old American books such as his are near impossible to track down if you live in the U.K. like me.
Before him,
I was daft on Lewis Carroll mostly.

I almost own all of these Oz books now.

Baum Oz Books

It took me years to get as many as I have.
I ordered them from a great place in New York City called ‘Books Of Wonder’.

Books Of Wonder

‘Books Of Wonder’ have a great site HERE.

Now,
Before the internet,
I was desperate to read these books.
Desperate.

Then,
When I got internet access I combed through it and was eventually able to read these online.
It was worth it.

By far the best stories I’ve ever read!
I read them as just small black text into the wee hours.
Real headache stuff.

Also,
No illustrations.
Pretty frustrating as I remember.
I knew how prolific illustrator John R. Neill was on these books.

Anyways, anyways…..
It’s almost 2010 and things have changed.

Visit HERE and you will find a great thing called “The Ozmatron”.

“The Ozmatron” allows you to completely browse and read all of L. Frank Baum’s Oz Books and even some of his excellent Non-Oz work such as:
“The Life And Adventures Of Santa Claus”
& “The Enchanted Island Of Yew”.
It’s exaustive alright but all are well worth a read or 10!

And also,
It’s in order with all illustrations which is amazing.

I’ll tell ya,
I wish I had something like The Ozmatron 7 or 8 years ago.

Go take a look and start reading folks.

Published in: on September 20, 2009 at 16:17  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/oz-the-ozmatron/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I fucking love the Ozmatron! I use it in my Oz blogs a lot!


Leave a Reply

