“The Shining”.

A few days ago The GFT screened:

shining1

I never thought I’d get a chance to see this masterpiece up on the big screen but a few nights ago I did!

For me,
The Shining” is right up there in my top 5 horror films.
Easily.

See,
I don’t just like this film.
I fucking love this film and I’m prone to deafness when people tell me why they don’t like it.
Heh heh.

Aye, so,
It was pretty impressive to see this in the cinema for the first time and pretty interesting too.

I own 3 copies of the film on DVD (Don’t ask) and I’ve seen this film….oh I dunno…..a fuck lot of times okay?

I knew there were a few versions and edits out there but the GFT showed an extended cut which I’d never seen so I was pretty pleased about that.

While watching,
Every so often I’d think: “What? I don’t remember that!”
And the thing was,
It actually enhanced the film rather than take from it!
If you can, Try and see the extended cut.
It’s worth it.

Stanley Kubrick just may have been a genius.
(I hate that word. It’s overused. But, there y’go! I just used it!)

Back to the cinema….

So, while watching the film I realised that I’d never watched “The Shining” with other people.
Not even friends.
That’s an odd experience too.

(I first caught it late one night on T.V. alone, when I was 9 or 10 and yes, yes it scared the utter fuck out of me!)

See,
The film, as disturbing as it is, actually got a few laughs!

-Good laughs.
Knowing laughs of what was about to come.

All of the laughs were for Jack Nicholson during his interview at the start of the film and the fact that he’s obviously already looking and acting crazy.
Heh heh.

All in all,
Seeing “The Shining” on a big screen renewed my unhealthy obsession with it all over again and I walked around that night with a grin just as big as Ol’ Jacks!

Actually,
My unhealthy obsession is nothing compared to the guy who wrote this.

So,
All in all,
A fucking excellent movie.

Go see it!
Kill….Ahem,..Take the wife and kids!
Maybe leave the axe at home…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/07/31/the-shining/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The shining was a masterpiece. I actually got the chance to view it in the theatre recently, one of those mom and pop me watching by myself type of theatres. Unfortunately, I was not lucky enough to see any sort of extended cut of the film. Actually, I had no idea that it was even out there! What were some of the scenes that were added? You said there are many versions? So, it’s kinda like how there are four billion versions of blade runner out there right?

    Oh hell, remember that awful made for tv remake of the shining? It was mentally and visually offensive!

  2. I’m with you on this great movie/story. Can’t decide between The Shining and The Exorcist as a favorite top pick flick. Something that may be of some interest—I get joked about The Shining quite a bit. My wife and I live in a remote part of Alaska at our lodge where we deal with armpit deep snow and cold for 7 months at a time. And I’m trying to be a published author—-a horror novelist at that. Does all work and no play make Jack a dull boy? Nahhhh………..no such thing as the boogie-man out here. ‘Kind of wish there was to break up the more present boredom of cabin fever during the worst parts of winter. ‘Hope this reality doesn’t blow the movie for ya!

  3. From Wikipedia:

    Alternate Cuts:
    There are several versions of The Shining. After its premiere and a week into the general run (with a running time of 146 minutes), Kubrick cut a scene at the end that took place in a hospital. The scene had Wendy in a bed talking with Mr. Ullman, the man who hired Jack at the beginning of the film. He explains that her husband’s body could not be found, thus raising several questions and implications. He then walks over to Danny and hands him a yellow tennis ball, presumably the same one that lured Danny into room 237, thus informing the audience that Ullman was well aware of the super natural events happening at the hotel. This scene was subsequently physically cut out of prints by projectionists and sent back to the studio by order of Warner Bros., the film’s distributor.

    As noted by Roger Ebert:

    “ If Jack did indeed freeze to death in the labyrinth, of course his body was found — and sooner rather than later, since Dick Hallorann alerted the forest rangers to serious trouble at the hotel.

    If Jack’s body was not found, what happened to it? Was it never there? Was it absorbed into the past, and does that explain Jack’s presence in that final photograph of a group of hotel party-goers in 1921?

    Did Jack’s violent pursuit of his wife and child exist entirely in Wendy’s imagination, or Danny’s, or theirs?… Kubrick was wise to remove that epilogue. It pulled one rug too many out from under the story.

    At some level, it is necessary for us to believe the three members of the Torrance family are actually residents in the hotel during that winter, whatever happens or whatever they think happens. ”

    The European version runs for 119 minutes due to Kubrick personally cutting 24 minutes from the film as mentioned above.[3] The excised scenes made reference to the outside world.

    For international versions, Kubrick shot different takes of Wendy reading the typewriter pages in different languages. For each language, a suitable idiom was used: German (Was du heute kannst besorgen, das verschiebe nicht auf morgen – “Never put off till tomorrow what may be done today”), Italian (Il mattino ha l’oro in bocca – “The morning has gold in its mouth”), French (Un «Tiens» vaut mieux que deux «Tu l’auras» – “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush”), Spanish (No por mucho madrugar amanece más temprano – “No matter how early you get up, you can’t make the sun rise any sooner”). These alternate shots were not included with the DVD release, where only the English phrase was used.

  4. P.S:
    Check this out:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/jan/07/stephen-king-shining-novel


Leave a Reply

