Thoughts On Phil Spector.

Hi folks.

People who know me well have been asking why I ain’t put anything up here about the Phil Spector thing yet.

It’s no secret that I love the music this man once made!
He worked with everyone who was anyone and made straight up music which no one has been able to touch since.
He’s a huge influence to me.
Anyways,
Here goes:

I love Phil Spector.
They don’t make guys like him no more.

When I think of Phil Spector,
I think of this:

phil-1

I’m a huge fan of everything he did for music.
I think he was a huge talent.
A restless, crazy, deeply disturbed talent!
Ain’t they the best kind!

Some of the first music I ever heard was by Phil Spector.
Jesus! I remember the first time I heard “Be My Baby” By The Ronettes!
I was too young, But it was a nice way to get your heart broken for the first time.
How I love that record!…

Some of the greatest music ever burned onto record was his!
He changed everything and for me, He’s one of a kind.

Thank fuck!
Because, now,
He’s probably gonna die in jail for murdering someone.

I honestly have no opinion on that.
It’s sad and terrible.
But!
I can’t relate to it y’know?

I kept up with the trial with mild interest.
But I’m distanced from it y’know?
Where am I?
Scotland!
The way it appears on the news here is all:
Holywood, Gossip, Scandal & Glitter.
Crap like that.

 I didn’t bat an eyelid when he turned up like this:

phil-2

The papers here went nuts over that photo at the time.
I got no time for that.
I just don’t.

But,
I admit,
This recent pic got to me a bit:

phil-3

He looks broken.

The way I see it,
If he did kill that broad,
I ain’t suprised.
I just don’t care because I can’t relate to it.

“It makes me sad”.

That’s as much as you’ll get from me on it.
I’m off to listen to The Crystals.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/thoughts-on-phil-spector/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

