David Byrne Live In Glasgow! I Was There!

That’s right folks!
Me & my pal Chris went to see David Byrne last night.

It was at The Glasgow Royal Concert Halls.
That’s right!
The place where me & Chris work.
Did we pay for tickets?
– Of course we didn’t! 🙂

Now,
This was a special gig!

When David Byrne walked on stage, The crowd went fucking nuts!
We work at the venue and we ain’t never seen a reception like the one David got last night.

A standing ovation which lasted close to 10 minutes.
– And he hadn’t even spoken a word or struck a chord yet!

Easily the best gig I think I’ve ever seen!
A bold statement for me to make but completely true!

Actually, Do you all know who David Byrne is?
Remember? I mentioned him in this post here.

Here, are a few photos from last night:

david-byrne-5

david-byrne-10

david-byrne-12

Yeah, That’s right!
He’s wearing a tutu.
So fuck!

Right,
Anyways,

My pal Chris has a better memory for these things than I do and here’s the set as he remembers it:

Main Set: Strange Overtones, I Zimbra, Life Is Long, Help Me Somebody, The River, Houses In Motion, My Big Nurse, My Big Hands (Fall Through The Cracks), Heaven, One Fine Day, Crosseyed And Painless, Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On), Once In A Lifetime, Life During Wartime, I Feel My Stuff.

1st Encore: Take Me To The River, The Great Curve.

2nd Encore: Air, Burning Down The House.

3rd Encore: Everything That Happens.

(Well remembered, Cheers Chris!)

(Speaking of Chris, His face was on permanent Grin & Amazement mode all through the gig!) 🙂

This post is in danger of becoming too long.
(Y’all know how I hate to write long posts).

But, I ain’t even touched on the dancers he had up with him and the choreography.

Aww…It was something else altogether folks!
There were no samples used, which, if you’ve heard his latest album, is mind blowing!
Nope,
No samples.
Just David Byrne, a small band, and some seriously good dancers!

You shoulda been there!
It was an experience!

Actually,
If you were,
Drop me a comment and gimme your experience of last night.

I got a few more photos.
See them on my other sites and pages as per usual.

A whole 30+ hours have passed and I still ain’t came down from this gig!

Something else!
It was something else!

Published in: on April 1, 2009 at 23:14  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/david-byrne-live-in-glasgow-i-was-there/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

