Guns ‘N’ Roses: “Chinese Democracy” Review.

up-1guns

Alright, I’m just gonna come out and say it.

Overworked, Overhyped, Self Indulgent, Whiney, Unimaginative, Boring.

I could go on.
But I won’t.

After all, Axl Rose has made around 6 albums and that is 6 more albums than I’ve ever made.

Anyways, back to the new album “Chinese Democracy”.

It just doesn’t fly for me.
I also really hate the fact that Axl Rose has kept the Guns ‘N’ Roses name for this album.

I’m all for artistic and musical growth and seemingly, Ol’ Axl is too!
Except, he’s not is he?

‘Cause if he was, then he’d have had the balls to leave the Guns ‘N’ Roses name and brand behind and come out from hiding behind it instead of using it to sell a pretty average record.

I was born in 1981 and at the end of the 80’s Guns ‘N’ Roses were what was happening.
They were a dangerously, sleazy, out and out Rock & Roll band and I loved ’em!

When they split, I didn’t really give much of a fuck about it to be honest.
They made some great records and I’m happy with that.
It’s not like I feel that I’m owed anything y’know?

I don’t really understand why some people desperately try and hold onto something which is so obviously over.
Dunno….maybe that’s just me.

So, back to “Chinese Democracy”,
It’s taken 17 years to get made and I can’t hear any evidence as to why.

The whole thing sounds like a guy who’s sat down and fucked around with Pro-Tools for 17 years.

The guitar playing is just mindless widdling for the sake of it too.
Before this album, back when Guns ‘N’ Roses were Guns ‘N’ Roses, You couldn’t fault or touch the guitar work.
On this album, the guitars have no balls at all and worse than that, no feeling behind them.

Ach………I’m boring myself here.

I’m not even gonna bother writing about the bad singing or crappy lyrics.
If you’re interested in this album, then go and listen to it.

But I’ll tell you, If it wasn’t for the picture on the album cover then there would be nothing about “Chinese Democracy” for me to like.

Published in: on November 22, 2008 at 22:57  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/guns-n-roses-chinese-democracy-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

