80 Years Old.

Just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who made my Birthday so great.
THANKS EVERYONE!

I got lots of nice things and my e-mail box was chock full of the warmest messages.
Everyone has been asking about the cake Anna made.
‘Does she sell them?’ etc…
I’ll pass all messages on.

Like i said earlier, I celebrated on Halloween which was really a great day.
This was a good thing as my actual Birthday was a little uncomfortable.

I was working at The Royal Concert Hall at 6pm yesterday.

So, I’m riding the deserted train into town, watching the sun go down when i start to feel…….kind of…off.
Light headed, pins and needles in my hands.

Fucking huge asthma attack!
I left my inhalers on a train last week so I was in trouble.

So, i’m doing my best to appear ‘normal’ and breathe.
I get it semi under control as the train rolls into Glasgow Central Station but I feel terrible.

Actually, “terrible” is the wrong word. I feel like i am about to die of asphixiation any second.

Luckily, I have my last words ready if i should die: “It was (Insert name of least favourite person of the day) who did this to me”. – See me? I’m prepared for situ-fucking-ations like this!

I get to work via the stage door and slide up the wall of the stairs and slip into the bathroom beside the staff room.
I look in the mirror and think:
‘Fuck. You look like shit Al. How the fuck are we gonna get through this shift?’

I’ll try and cut a long story short.

Last nights concert hall performance was by Edinburgh opera singer John Innes.
It was okay. I’ll maybe explain more in another post.
By halfway through it, I was slumped on a staff chair at the side of the exit door sipping a glass of water which my colleague Maria had gave to me.

Bless Maria.
I told her what was going on with me and that I felt like an 80 year old and she totally mothered me.
Telling me to sit down, take it easy, deep breaths and water.
Cheers Maria.

So it’s now 10.30 pm and i’m stumbling back to the train station.
Somewhere along Renfield Street I was sure I was gonna pass out.
Traffic lights were confusing me and i felt a bit disorientated.
I started to think:
‘Great. I’m gonna die in the street here on my fucking Birthday. Great!’

I didn’t obviously. Heheh
I made the train and started to calm myself down a bit.
I got my ipod out but couldn’t concentrate on the music.
Got home, went straight to bed.
This morning i’m a lot better.
I ordered more inhalers so hopefully that will be the end of it.

Ironically, I have a first aid class tonight.
Hehehhe

Published in: on November 3, 2008 at 11:48  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/80-years-old/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

