Tik-tok.

Of all the characters created by L. Frank Baum for his Oz series, I think Tiktok is a definately a favourite of mine.

Thats why he will be re-created with a lot of love and affection by myself for the book I’m working on for Mr. Matt Bloom.

Currently, I have him finished but no way am I uploading the final Tiktok artwork.
Waddaya nuts!?

Anyways, Coming up with a slightly modernised look for Tiktok has been a bit of a challenge and a long process for me. I have 100’s of abandoned and completed sketches.
I am of course taking into consideration how loved the character is but it’s important that I re-vamp him even if it is only slightly.

All I knew, was that i didn’t want him to have hair, a nose, or clothes as in John R. Neills beautiful illustrations.
I wanted to keep him familiar and I think I have.
But anyways, you’ll have to wait and see for yourselves.

In the meantime I thought I’d upload some rough working sketches from 2/3 months ago.
Both were done very quickly with 2 pens that were lying around in work but I liked them then, and I still kinda like them now.


Published in: on September 29, 2008 at 19:04  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alancook.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/tiktok/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

